The Ferals That Ate Australia

Dangerous predators and ravenous herbivores: the story of Australia’s feral nightmare. Isolation was once the impenetrable barrier that protected Australia and its unique fauna. But a little over two hundred years ago a foreign power took possession and brought with it the foreign animals which now dominate the country’s ecosystem. They are the enemy within. […]

Mrs. March

Shirley Jackson meets Ottessa Moshfegh meets My Sister the Serial Killer in a brilliantly unsettling and darkly funny debut novel full of suspense and paranoia. George March’s latest novel is a smash hit. None could be prouder than Mrs. March, his dutiful wife, who revels in his accolades and relishes the lifestyle and status his […]

The Pages

The new novel about the transformative power of art, the weight of history and the strange connection we make with one another from the author of The Speckled People. Narrated in the voice of Joseph Roth’s masterpiece Rebellion, Hugo Hamilton’s stunning, formally inventive new novel tells the life story of that book, initially rescued from […]

Gods and Monsters

Evil always seeks a foothold. We must not give it one. The electrifying conclusion to the New York Times and Indiebound bestselling Serpent & Dove series is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Kendare Blake. Lou has spent her whole life running. Now, after a crushing blow from Morgane, the time has come […]

In Plain Sight

UFOs. UAPs. Flying cigars. X-Files. An award-winning investigative journalist sets out to discover why everyone’s talking about ‘it’ again, whether there IS something out there and, if so, what… Award-winning journalist Ross Coulthart has been fascinated by the phenomena known as UFOs since he was 16. But for decades, UFOlogy has been considered the realm […]

The Gallery of Miracles and Madness

The extraordinary, little-known story of Hitler’s war on modern art. In the first years of the Weimar Republic, the German psychiatrist Hans Prinzhorn gathered a remarkable collection of works by schizophrenic patients that would astonish and delight the world. The Prinzhorn collection, as it was called, inspired a new generation of artists, including Paul Klee, […]

Great Australian Volunteer Firies Stories

Us firefighters do more than fight fires. We also assist those who have just gone through what’s probably the worst experience of their lives.’ The devastating 2019-2020 Black Summer bushfires threw the importance of our volunteer firefighters into sharp focus. But these brave men and women don’t just step up to protect life and property […]

Notes on Grief

A devastating essay on loss and the people we love from Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, the bestselling author of Americanah and Half of a Yellow Sun. ‘Grief is a cruel kind of education. You learn how ungentle mourning can be, how full of anger. You learn how glib condolences can feel. You learn how much grief […]

Tapestries of Life

The second book by the bestselling author of Extraordinary Insects. Trees clean air and water; hoverflies and bees pollinate our crops; the kingfisher inspired the construction of high-speed trains. In Tapestries of Life, bestselling author Anne Sverdrup-Thygeson explains how closely we are all connected with the natural world, highlighting our indelible link with nature’s finely […]