Rabbit, Soldier, Angel, Thief

Award-winning writer Katrina Nannestad transports us to Russia and the Great Patriotic War and into the life of Sasha, a soldier at only six years old… Wood splinters and Mama screams and the nearest soldier seizes her roughly by the arms. My sister pokes her bruised face out from beneath the table and shouts, ‘Run, […]

Red Dirt Diaries (Book 1): Red Dirt Diary

The hilarious, madcap diary of eleven-year-old Blue Weston, during a year filled with pig chariots, leech attacks, dust storms and drought. Blue Weston’s life is spiralling out of control. Her parents are sending her to boarding school next year. Her mad twin brothers are building pig chariots in the back shed. Her best friend has […]

Red Dirt Diaries (Book 3): Blue’s News

The third hilarious diary from the irrepressible Blue Weston. Blue Weston is on a mission! She’s starting Hardbake Plains’ first ever newspaper with Mat and Ben. She’s determined not to like her new teacher, the Colonel. And she’s trying to convince Miss McKenzie to come back from Scotland. But despite Blue’s best intentions, things don’t […]

Red Dirt Diaries (Book 2): Blue About Love

The next hilarious diary from the irrepressible Blue Weston. I’m going to be a bridesmaid. Mat, Lynette and me. Long, pink shiny dresses and flowers in our hair. Leading Miss McKenzie down the aisle to disaster. I think I’m going to puke… When Blue’s favourite teacher announces she’s engaged, Blue thinks she must have lost […]

We Are Wolves

THE POWERFUL NEW NOVEL FROM AWARD-WINNING AUSTRALIAN WRITER KATRINA NANNESTAD Sometimes it’s good to be wild. Sometimes you have to be wild. When the Russian Army marches into East Prussia at the end of the war, the Wolf family must flee. Liesl, Otto and their baby sister Mia find themselves lost and alone, in a […]

The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Lucerne

AN ABSOLUTE DELIGHT TO READ, WITH LOTS OF CHARMING AND QUIRKY CHARACTERS’ – Better Reading Freja and her mother, Clementine, are reunited at last. Tobias and Vivi are in love. And Lucerne, their new home, is a paradise of snowy alps, sapphire lakes, white swans and delicious Swiss chocolate! Everything seems perfect, until poor Lady […]

The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Provence

FANS OF … JACQUELINE HARVEY WILL LOVE THIS BOOK’ – Kids’ Book Review on The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome When Freja and Tobias arrive in Claviers, Provence, it feels like home. The hilltop village is surrounded by olive groves, lavender fields and drifts of red poppies. The market square hides a […]

The Girl, the Dog and the Writer in Rome

He’s the world’s vaguest novelist. She’s a shy and unusual child. Together, they’re travelling the world, one book a time. ‘QUITE SIMPLY THE BEST SORT OF READING PLEASURE FROM THE FIRST PAGE TO THE LAST’ – Raven’s Parlour Bookstore For the first ten years of Freja’s life, she and her mother Clementine have roamed the […]

The Girl Who Brought Mischief

In the tradition of ANNE OF GREEN GABLES and HEIDI comes a heart-warming novel set in Denmark in 1911 about love, family, grief and joy. The award-winning novel from the author of OLIVE OF GROVES When Inge Maria arrives on the tiny island of Bornholm in Denmark to live with her grandmother, she’s not sure […]