Half My Luck

From the winner of the inaugural Matilda Prize comes a heartwarming coming-of-age story about growing up in Australia when you’re caught between two cultures. Layla Karimi has been cursed by the evil eye. Well, that’s what Layla’s superstitious grandmother tells her. And Layla reckons it makes sense as she’s sort of Australian and sort of […]

Like a Dandelion

Like a Dandelion is a poetic tribute to the bravery of immigrants and refugees, inspired by the author’s childhood experience of moving to the United States from Cambodia. Like feathery seeds, a young girl and her mother take flight, putting down roots in an adopted country. Soon they blossom in their new home, strong and […]

Ace of Spades

How can you play the game when the cards are stacked against you? A compelling, incendiary, and unputdownable thriller with a shocking twist, Faridah Àbíke-Íyímíde delves deep into the heart of institutionalized racism with this compulsive debut. Hello, Niveus High. It’s me. Who am I? That’s not important. All you need to know is…I’m here […]

If the World Were 100 People

Imagine the world’s population as 100 people: what would it look like? There are almost 8 billion humans living on Earth, but it’s tricky to picture so many people! So instead, let’s imagine the whole planet is a village where 100 people live – each person representing around 80 million people in the real world. […]

Class Act

New York Times bestselling author Jerry Craft returns with a companion book to New Kid, winner of the 2020 Newbery Medal, the Coretta Scott King Author Award, and the Kirkus Prize. This time, it’s Jordan’s friend Drew who takes center stage in another laugh-out-loud funny, powerful, and important story about being one of the few […]

We Move the World

An inspiring and empowering picture book about the small things kids do that have the potential to change the world! Meet some of the world’s most beloved movers, shakers, scientists, activists, dreamers, and doers from the past and present who model what every childhood first can lead to! Neil Armstrong, Misty Copeland, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, […]

Something to Say

From the author of A Good Kind of Trouble, a Walter Dean Myers Honor Book, comes another unforgettable story about finding your voice – and finding your people. Perfect for fans of Sharon Draper, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds. Eleven-year-old Jenae doesn’t have any friends – and she’s just fine with that. She’s so good […]

Blackout

The irresistible blockbuster YA romance of summer 2021 that celebrates Black love stories, by six of the biggest voices in YA. Perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Netflix’s Let it Snow and Bolu Babalola’s Love in Colour. When a heatwave plunges New York City into darkness, sparks fly for thirteen teenagers caught up in the […]

House of Kwa

Wild Swans meets Educated in this riveting true story spanning four generations The dreamer boy travelling on dragon hide… a tiger running alone in the night… Mimi Kwa ignored the letter for days. When she finally opened it, the news was so shocking her hair turned grey. Why would a father sue his own daughter? […]