With the Falling of the Dusk

A deeply powerful, poetic and compelling book on the challenges facing our world, from one of Australia’s most experienced journalists and international commentators, Stan Grant. History is turning. In only a few short decades, we have come a long way from Francis Fukuyama’s declaration of the ‘end of history’ and the triumph of liberal democracy […]

Opie Jones Talks to the Animals

Dr Dolittle meets Kid Normal in a hilarious middle grade superhero series from comedian Nat Luurtsema. Perfect for fans of David Baddiel, My Brother is a Superhero and Lightning Girl 10-year-old Opie Jones is Very Ordinary. In fact nothing remarkable has ever happened to her, if you don’t count the cat that gives her funny […]

Africaville: A Novel

A ferociously talented writer makes his stunning debut with this richly woven tapestry, set in a small Nova Scotia town settled by former slaves, that depicts several generations of one family bound together and torn apart by blood, faith, time, and fate. Vogue : Best Books to Read This Winter Structured as a triptych, Africaville […]

Think Black

In this thought-provoking and heartbreaking memoir, an award-winning writer tells the story of his father, John Stanley Ford, the first black software engineer at IBM, revealing how racism insidiously affected his father’s view of himself and their relationship. In 1947, Thomas J. Watson set out to find the best and brightest minds for IBM. At […]

Agatha Christie’s Poirot: The Greatest Detective in the World

From the very first book publication in 1920 to the upcoming film release of Death on the Nile, this investigation into Agatha Christie’s Hercule Poirot celebrates a century of probably the world’s favourite fictional detective. This book tells his story decade-by-decade, exploring his appearances not only in the original novels, short stories and plays but […]

The Boy Who Drew Auschwitz

‘We felt an urge to document what we had witnessed. If we who had experienced it, I reasoned, did not reveal the bitter truth, people simply would not believe the extent of the Nazis’ evil. I wanted to share our life, the events and our struggle to survive.’ Thomas Geve was just 15 years old […]

Reaper of Souls

Before, Arrah was shamed by having no magic at all. Now, with demons on warpath, she is the only one in the world who has it. Explosive fantasy set in a West-African world of magic and legend. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sarah J Maas. I AM POWER. I AM MY ANCESTORS. I […]

Love in English

A fresh, breakout YA novel that is layered with themes of immigration, cultural identity, and finding your voice in any language. Sixteen-year-old Ana is a poet and a lover of language. Except that since she moved to New Jersey from Argentina, she can barely find the words to express how she feels. At first Ana […]

The Last Bear

Imagine making friends with a polar bear… “This is an important first novel, important for us, for polar bears, for the planet. It is deeply moving, beautifully told, quite unforgettable.” Michael Morpurgo. There are no polar bears left on Bear Island. At least, that’s what April’s father tells her when his scientific research takes them […]