With the Falling of the Dusk

History is turning. In only a few short decades, we have come a long way from Francis Fukuyama’s declaration of the ‘end of history’ and the triumph of liberal democracy in 1989. Now, with the inexorable rise and rise of China, the ascendancy of authoritarianism and the retreat of democracy, the world stands at a […]

Look Inside the World of Bees

A gorgeously illustrated flap book that gives a glimpse into the amazing and important world of bees. Why do bees have furry bodies? What happens inside a bee hive? How do bees know where to find flowers? Find out all about the amazing world of bees in this illustrated flap book for young children, with […]

The Gimmicks

This exuberant, wholly original novel begins in Kirovakan, Armenia, in 1971. Ruben Petrosian is a serious, solitary young man who cares about two things: mastering the game of backgammon to beat his archrival, Mina, and studying the history of his ancestors. Ruben grieves the victims of the 1915 Armenian Genocide, a crime still denied by […]

Beyond

On April 12, 1961, Yuri Gagarin became the first human being to go into space. This book, published on the sixtieth anniversary of that epic flight, tells the astonishing story of how it happened, why it happened – and what happened next. ‘Whoever controls space controls the world.’ Lyndon B. Johnson 1958 Gagarin’s flight was […]

Rise Up and Write It

Rise Up and Write It combines a celebration of civic engagement with the hands-on fun of real pull-out examples of activism tools and is sure to encourage young readers to want to get up and get involved. The book comes complete with a pull-out letter to the mayor, a ready-to-sign petition, a community meeting poster, […]

Footprints

A profound meditation on climate change and an urgent search for the fossils – industrial, chemical, geological – that humans are leaving behind. What will the world look like ten thousand or ten million years from now? In Footprints, David Farrier explores what traces we will leave for the very deep future. From long-lived materials […]

Alabama Spitfire

The inspiring true story of Harper Lee, the girl who grew up to write To Kill a Mockingbird, from Bethany Hegedus and Erin McGuire. Perfect for fans of The Right Word and I Dissent. This nonfiction picture book is an excellent choice for children ages 4 to 6. Nelle Harper Lee grew up in the […]

Mapping Sam

An adventurous cat named Sam explores her neighborhood at night in this gorgeously illustrated book. Informational, beautiful, and deeply moving, Mapping Sam is both a book about how maps work and an engaging, character-driven story. Maps can show us streets and subways and cities and countries. But they can also show us what we can’t […]

Legends of the Lost Lilies

The final and thrilling conclusion to the popular and bestselling Miss Lily series. A mysterious telegram: ‘Lily needs you’ is received just before a plane from war-wracked England lands in one of Sophie Greenman’s paddocks. Sophie, Countess of Shillings, has been living a quiet life on her property in Australia, until love and loyalty draws […]