We Are Not Free

From New York Times best-selling and acclaimed author Traci Chee comes We Are Not Free, the collective account of a tight-knit group of young Nisei, second-generation Japanese American citizens, whose lives are irrevocably changed by the mass U.S. incarcerations of World War II. Fourteen teens who have grown up together in Japantown, San Francisco. Fourteen […]

Messy Roots

“Messy Roots is a laugh-out-loud, heartfelt, and deeply engaging story of their journey to find themself–as an American, as the daughter of Chinese immigrants, as a queer person, and as a Wuhanese American in the middle of a pandemic.” – Malaka Gharib, author of I Was Their American Dream After spending her early years in […]

Three Sheets to the Wind

How a motley crew of merchant seamen walked 600 miles to save 7000 gallons of rum By the bestselling author of The Ship That Never Was. When Campbell & Clark, Scottish merchants based in India, dispatched an Indian ship hurriedly renamed the Sydney Cove to the colony of NSW in 1797, they were hoping to […]

Dr. B

The former director of the Museum of Modern Art in Stockholm makes his literary debut with this dramatic and riveting novel of book publishing, émigrés, spies, and diplomats in World War II Sweden based on his grandfather’s life. In 1933, after Hitler and the Nazi Party consolidated power in Germany, Immanuel Birnbaum, a German Jewish […]

The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School

Sonora Reyes’ debut YA novel is a knockout-a sharply funny and incredibly moving portrait of a queer Mexican American girl learning to celebrate who she is at her very core. Seventeen-year-old Yamilet Flores prefers drawing attention for her killer eyeliner, not for being one of the only Mexican kids at her new, mostly white, very […]

Squire

From two incredible rising talents comes the fantasy graphic novel Molly Knox Ostertag calls ‘instantly compelling.’ Aiza has always dreamt of becoming a Knight. It’s the highest military honor in the once-great Bayt-Sajji Empire, and as a member of the subjugated Ornu people, Knighthood is her only path to full citizenship. Ravaged by famine and […]

No Escape

A devastating personal account of China’s oppression of the Uyghurs, by a leading Uyghur activist and Time #100 nominee Nury Turkel was born in a ‘re-education’ camp in China at the height of the Cultural Revolution. He spent the first several months of his life in captivity with his mother, who was beaten and starved […]

The Cult of Romance

When your bestie is marrying a guy she barely knows, can you save her from the cult before it’s too late? Natalie is living proof that love is a scam. She’s traumatised by her parents’ failed marriage and overwhelmed by her grandmother’s expectations of good Lebanese girls — marriage, motherhood and exceptional tabouli-making skills. When […]

Charming as a Verb

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. Henri ‘Halti’ Haltiwanger can charm just about anyone. He is a star debater and popular student at the prestigious FATE academy, the dutiful first-generation Haitian son, […]